Ruth makes Noise and Sparks as BFS award winner

We’re delighted to share the great news that Ruth EJ Booth won this year’s best non-fiction prize at the British Fantasy Society’s awards for her Noise and Sparks column in Shoreline of Infinity. She was presented with her trophy at the recent British Fantasy Society Awards Ceremony at Fantasycon. Ruth joined us for Shoreline of […]

Shoreline of Infinity and Ruth EJ Booth shortlisted for British Fantasy Awards 2019

British Fantasy Society, British Fantasy Awards 2018 Shoreline of Infinity is delighted to declare that we have been shortlisted for Best Magazine/Periodical in this year’s British Fantasy Society’s Awards. And, Ruth EJ Booth is also shortlisted for best non-fiction for her thoughtful and engaging column, Noise and Sparks.  After two rounds of nomination and voting […]

Shoreline of Infinity 29

Print and digital edition

Stories from:

Adriana KantchevaB.G. Alder, Ben Blow, E.M. Faulds, Callum McSorley, Ida Keogh, Jack Schouten, Louise Hughes, Maya Chhabra, Richard Gregson, Tim Major


Winning stories of the Flash fiction competition: science fiction ghost stories 

SF poetry from: R.V. Neville, Sarah Bricault, William Stephenson

Noise and Sparks: The New, Normal by Ruth EJ Booth

Interview with Ken MacLeod

Cover by Stephen Daly

This issue is published in paperback and digital formats: PDF, Kindle and ePub


Shoreline of Infinity 23

Print and digital edition

Stories from: Aliya Whiteley, D.A. Xiaolin Spires, David F. Schultz, Fiona Moore, Gary Gibson, Haruka Mugihara , Jeff Hunter, Ken MacLeod, Laura Duerr, Laura Watts, Michael F Russell, Michael Teasdale

Winning story of the Cymera/Shoreline short story competition

SF poetry from: Peter J. King, Sadie Maskery, MJ Brocklebank

Noise and Sparks: The New, Normal by Ruth EJ Booth

Alba ad Astra: Madeleine Shepherd

Art: Jackie Duckworth, Stephen Daly, Caroline Grebbell and cover art by Andrew Owens

Annual Flash fiction competition details

This issue is published in paperback and digital formats: PDF, Kindle and ePub

Shoreline of Infinity 17

New stories from: Bo Balder, S.A.M. Rundell, Brian M. Milton, dave ring, Jeremy Nelson, Peyman Saremian, Raymond W Gallacher

Winners of the 2019 Flash Fiction Competition: Simon Fung, Emma Levin, Anna Ziegelhof

Poetry: Frederick Pollack, Laura Watts, Emma Levin

Ruth EJ Booth – award winning column Noise and Sparks

Chris Beckett – interview and a wee extract from Beneath the World, a Sea

SF Caledonia: J.T. McIntosh

Mark Toner – Tales of the Beachcomber

Special Treat: Russell Jones’ Prime Jokes

Book Reviews

Shoreline of Infinity 16

Nominated again (after winning last year!) for the British Fantasy Society Best Magazine/Journal of the year

New Science fiction stories from: Petra Kuppers, Allen Ashley, Helen French, Kate Macdonald, Laura Duerr, Calum L. MacLeòid, Ahmed A. Khan

2019 BFS award-winning Ruth EJ Booth: Noise and Sparks

Vicki Jarrett: interview

SF Poetry: Rachel Plummer, Cardinal Cox, Chuck Von Nordheim

Plus Mark Toner’s Tales of the Beachcomber
Book Reviews

Shoreline of Infinity 15

Stories: DA D’Amico, EM Faulds, Tim Major, Callum McSorley, Tiffany Meuret, JG Sarmiento, Teika Marija Smits, Lidia Molina Whyte

Cymera Festival/Shoreline of Infinity Short fiction winners: Cleo Luna, Beth Nuttall

Gareth L Powell on Writing
Louise Welsh interview
Ruth EJ Booth: Noise and Sparks

SF Poetry: Angela Cleland, Peter King, Rachel Sambrooks

Plus Mark Toner’s Tales of the Beachcomber
Book Reviews

Shoreline of Infinity 14

Stories: Thomas Broderick, Rhiannon Grist, Cat Hellisen, Ken MacLeod, Andrew Reichard, Neil Williamson, Vicki Jarrett, Emma Levin, Alyssa Eckles, Eris Young

Poetry: FJ Bergmann, Harry Josephine Giles, Richard Stevenson

Ruth EJ Booth’s BSFA award shortlisted column “Noise and Sparks”
Pippa Goldschmidt on “The Future is already here”

Mark Toner’s Tales of the Beachcomber
SF Caledonia: Chris Kelso on Neil Williamson
Plus reviews

Shoreline of Infinity 12

Fiction and poetry from: Helen JacksonRobert Gordon, Anton RoseJ S Richardson, W G WhiteElva Hills, Duncan LunanCaroline Hardaker, Ken Poyner, Elizabeth Dulemba

Ada Palmer – Interview

Chris Kelso – SF Caledonia: Crossing the Starfield
Mark Toner – The Beachcomber Presents
Ruth EJ Booth – Noise and Sparks: Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Genre?

And the annual flash fiction competition

Shoreline of Infinity 11

All women special edition

Stories by:

Aliette de Bodard, Emily Bowles, Karen Heuler, Lith Amenti, Anna Ibbotson, Katy Lennon, Sim Bajwa, Jen Downes

Ruth EJ Booth – Noise and Sparks: Beyond the Mountains

SJ McGeachy on Frankenstein: The Nuts and Bolts of Genre Mash-Up
Jonatha Kottler – Confessions of a Science Fiction She-nerd
Interview with Lisanne Norman

Poetry from: Katherine McMahon, Catherine Edmunds, Paige Smith, Katie Fanthorpe

Guest Editors: Pippa Goldschmidt, Caroline Grebbell
Guest Art Director: Monica Burns